Forum Module for Orchard Project

Mar 17, 2011 at 2:19 AM

Hello,

The Orchard Project needs a forum module, I was wondering if the author of this project can look into wrapping it up into the official forum module for Orchard. That will surely bring more exposure to this forum app as well. Instructions for easily creating a module can be found here; http://www.orchardproject.net/docs/

Thanx,

Coordinator
Mar 17, 2011 at 9:07 AM

It could be interesting!

We will discuss it to see how it can be achieved.

We are currently a team of 2 active developers, would you like to join the team?

Regards,

Jorge

Mar 17, 2011 at 5:56 PM

Hello Jorge, I appreciate your interest in a forum module for Orchard and inviting me on board, however, I am still learning the .NET framework and might be more of a bother than any help. I will do my best to get others involved in working with you on this and also notify the Orchard developers to provide you any asistance you may need. Here is a thread on the Orchard Project where it has recently been discussed; http://orchard.codeplex.com/discussions/249900

Thanx,

Mar 18, 2011 at 5:49 PM

Me and other members of the Orchard community will be happy to help with any questions you may have on Orchard. Our forums can be found at http://orchard.codeplex.com/discussions/

Mar 21, 2011 at 2:01 PM

It's a good idea, but i agree about what bertrandleroy said on a disucssion on the orchard codeplex site.
Authorization functionality is already available in Orchard, even integration with OpenId and OAuth (Facebook, Twitter) is done by another module.

It only needs to be forum functionality.

bertrandleroy wrote:

One thing I'd be careful about when building such a module is to factor out what is not specific to forums. For example, all the user management/profile, swear filters, categories/topics, etc. could be reused in other contexts.